Recommend me a "learners" scope

Herluf

I've got a 10-22 and my buddy just gave me a weaver rail. Now I'd like to have the option to put a scope on it. Probably won't be used for much long-range action and it would rarely even get out of an indoor range.

Basically, I'm looking for a cheap scope with which I can learn zeroing and adjusting. I see alot of advice not to buy a $30-40 scope, but that's exactly what I'm looking for. I'm new to optics, so any other advice or info you all would like to pass along would be appreciated as well.

4x scope

Buy yourself a 1"/4x scope for your 10/22. Simmons is good starter scope for
22s. Parallax will be less of problem with 4x. Do not buy cheap 3x9, they can
be a pain on 22s. I have a 10/22 with K4x weaver that has been on it since
the 10/22 came out with Deluxe Sporter, 77/22 with 4x Redfield, Marlin 39
with K3 Weaver and Savage 24DL with K4x. These are my hunting 22s, sighted
for 45yds they shoot better than me. All have duplex reticle. I have put bigger
powers on 22s but unless it's for a special purpose 4x is all you need. And most
any cheap scope will hold up on 22. You may be able to pick up a Rimfire line
scope for that money, made for 22s. Make sure you buy the 1" tube.

In that price range, I have surprisingly heard decent things about the Winchester 4X32 air rifle scope.

Rather than buy a $40 Simmons, I would really try to get $65 and buy a Bushnell Banner 4X32. I have one of their Dusk & Dawn scopes (better coating for $80) and it does well on my AR 15.

Look on ebay for a used but not abused burris or weaver scope. They're plenty of good deals to be had, i think that the optics are better than the new cheap chinese scopes.

Last edited:
"Look on ebay for a used buy not abused "