Range practice drills

spiderM9

Inactive
Hi everybody. I'm new to TFL and have really enjoyed reading through all your comments here. I'm pretty much a newbie, currently waiting for my CCL to come. I'm going to the range once a week at lunch time for practice now, so I have almost an hour to shoot. Could y'all lend me some advice on what kind of drills I could use to practice. Searching the archive didn't find anything on this specifically (basically all I found was the "smiley face" thread). I've got a Steyr M9. When I shoot now and take my time I'm pretty accurate, but I end up leaving the range feeling like I didn't really learn anything. I'm planning on trying out IDPA in a few weeks, they shoot once a month, but what I'm really looking for are things I can do at the range.

Here's what I'm interested in:
How many rounds do you burn through in an hour.
What distances do you shoot.
What kind of targets (if it matters).
Specific "drills" or sequences you've found to be helpful.

Keep It Interesting

This works for me:

First, Shoot at orange dots from a stationery store pasted to some white paper for practice keeping groups small. Do this at 7 yards, then, when you're confident, all the way to 25 yards.

For "practical" skills, my range prohibits rapid fire, so I like to hold the weapon at low ready, then on a "signal" from myself, I bring the sights to bear and fire as quickly as I can. I usually shoot at a silhouette for this drill. It will realy help you when you shoot IDPA. 7 yards is ideal.

I also fire at least 1 full mag with my off hand, no support from the other, and a mag from the strong hand, again unsupported.

I recently got a .22 for the bullseye practice, it's a lot cheaper. I also go back to the bullseye whenever I open my groups up.