Random malfunction with my Smith 686

AERacing1813

Hey guys, just recently I have noticed my 686 (no dash, pre lock 4") is acting funny, heres what happens, it's done it twice in the last 5 times i've been out with it, and I'm no revolver tech (yet :eek: )

So basically, I'll be shooting it fine and randomly the hammer will become very resistant on pulling, single or double action and the cylinder lock will not allow me to release the cylinder, the only way I've managed to get the thing to break free is smacking it in my hand repeatedly. I've since then taken the gun completely apart and cleaned it all up, nothing appeared to be out of spec/very dirty inside the action, but I'm still new to the whole revolver scene.

One thing I have noticed thats different on mine compared to a new 686 is the lugs on the extractor (ratchet lugs) are more to worn, kinda have sharp edges on them, could this be my issue?

Any help appreciated! personally i'm trying to avoid an actual gun smith, as I highly enjoy working on my firearms myself, i've got the semi auto's mastered but not revolvers, yet!

Once it breaks loose, is it "sticky" for awhile or does everything instantly go back to working perfectly?

I can't recall exactly as it's been about a month and a half since i've shot it, I want to say it went back to working perfectly, no sticky.

S&W recalled some L-frame revolvers a long time ago, to replace the bushing in the recoil shield, through which the firing pin protrudes to hit the primer.

The firing pin hole in some bushings was a little large, allowing particularly soft primer cups to extrude back into the hole, around the firing pin nose. This could lock up the action, or cause the symptoms you describe.

If you still have the fired cases that were in the revolver when this happened, you may wish to inspect the primers for any sign of odd deformation or drag.