Questions About Nevada Gun Laws

Daniel3

Inactive
I may be visiting Nevada soon and had some questions about possibly buying a
used .357 or .38 special there. Is there a waiting period? Would it require any
special license or permit or test?

Where should I look for good quality at best price? Gun shop? Pawn shop?
Private party?

Any recommendations for specific places to buy a used pistol (Ruger or S&W) and
ammo in Reno, Nevada in particular?

Daniel 3

I just moved to Nevada. There is no waiting period but you do have to go through a background check unless you are a CCW. This may all be moot though as I understand that only a state resident may buy a handgun in that state. I couldn't buy one in Utah because of that. I heard a rumor that you could, if you bought in a contiguous state, but my experience has been to the contrary.

Greetings,

I've been in and through Reno a number of times.

As a Californian resident, I cannot buy a firearm there....well, actually I can, but they have to ship to an FFL in California and I have to pay shipping and other charges on top of it. Sigh....nickle and dimed all over the place. Since I do not know where you are from, I have no idea if this applies to you.

I no longer gamble more than $20.00 a day in Nevada, often not at all, but others find the lure hard to resist. Though some feel pawnshops are enabling people to further their own downfall, I don't see it as such. So if you have a fair amount of firearm experience, I recommend going to a pawnshop.

I'm a curious person and I've been in pawnshops to see what was there, and I've been mildly shocked at the bargains I've seen. And more than one rip-off waiting to happen. Caveat emptor.

On the other hand, the Yellow Pages has a fair number of gun shops listed, but there is one in Sparkes I like the best....can't recall the name at this time however.

Good luck.

Duncan

from the dark recesses of an aging brain that gathered the info. long ago on rec.guns: