Question on arrow broadheads

FirstFreedom

I have about 6 arrows with broadheads on them that were carried into the field this last fall. None shot game, but they did go into and out of the quiver several times, with of course the sharp edges of the broadheads making contact with the rubber stops in the end of the quiver. Also, a couple/three were dropped from a stand and thus the broadhead lodged in the dirt/mud. So, given this minimal contact, do they need to be sharpened before next season, or will they retain 99% of their sharpness after such contact? Thanks. I'm a noob to bowhunting, but I want to be ready cuz looks like I'll be going on an elk hunt in September in Colo. (bow).

The leather shouldnt hurt the heads but if they have been dropped into the dirt it is likey they may have been damaged.

The only way to know is to check! Hold the edge up to the light. If you dont see any pits or areas where the light is reflected back to you, they should be pretty sharp.

If you have any doubt, sharpen them. Or, if you're not comfortable with that (a razor edge can be hard to achieve), buy new ones.

If in doubt, sharpen them. I'm kindof a fanatic when it comes to my broadheads. They definitely dull the more you take them in and out of your quiver. I also have a theory that the steel oxidizes over time, and that dulls them slightly. That's just an off the wall theory though. I sharpen my broadheads at least a couple times during the deer season, and again if I do any other hunting in the "off season", whatever that is. Broadheads can never be too sharp!

Just outta curiosity, what are you shooting? I use Magnus 125 gr. Snuffers on Easton 2018 Legacy shafts. My bow is a 55# Bear Grizzly recurve.