Question about Louisiana and age

Anty506

Inactive
I am currently 18 years old and I have a Glock 22 .40 that I bought from a friend.

From what I understand at 18 in la, I can buy the gun from my friend since its a "private" sale and not from a FLA.

So could I get the papers in my name?

Right now everything is in his name.

Also, our state law is 21 for concealed license.

I have my local sheriff who is going to get me a concealed license at my age because I know him. He says that I can say that I got it at 18 because of my dangerous job and because of the amount of money I make. A little job info..... I'm an Engineer for a major rap group called Trill Entertainment which includes lil'boosie, webbie, foxx and more.

So I'm always in a dangerous position when I go to work.

Even if he gets the license for me would I be in some trouble if say I get caught outside of my parish where I don't know the sheriff even though I have the license at 18?

I also travel to Mississippi a lot. Would they allow that since I have a valid license at only 18?

Just trying to make sure before I get in any trouble. I know I will be ok in my parish, but not sure any where else and when I ask him, he just says that there are certain situations to allow the license at 18.

Thanks for the help guys!

No offense, but a local sheriff getting you a CWP because he knows you is a bad idea. You and that Sheriff are not above state law and it could come back to bite you in the behind, I would research it a little more and see if you really can legally get it because of your job...interesting one at that...

IF you get it legally it is just as valid as if you were 21 and IF La. does make exceptions for 18 in some cases I don't see why yours wouldn't be one of those cases. From what I can find La. and Ms. do NOT honor each others CCW permits.

I also travel to Mississippi a lot. Would they allow that since I have a valid license at only 18?