Published in Illinois Shooter

Prof Young

Forum Friends:
Yours truly got a commentary published in the winter edition of the Illinois Shooter. See pic. Pasted in text below

Ta da.

Life is good.
Prof Young

What is Fair Chase?

“The only truly fair way to hunt would be to walk into the woods naked and wrestle the animal down with my bare hands.”
I spoke these words to an artist colleague at a college faculty dinner. At a small rural college it wasn’t unusual to have a handful of faculty who owned guns and did some hunting, but I was nonetheless a paradox. I was a theatre artist. Gun owner, hunter, theatre artist . . . one of these things I not like the others. Once I had a college president tell me that one of the reasons he supported my hire was just that. His words were something like “I wanted to get to know a guy who is a theatre artist and a hunter.”
The comment about walking into the woods naked elicited a nice giggle from my colleague’s wife. And for part of the remainder of the evening we had a good conversation about what is “fair chase” when it comes to hunting. I pointed out that hunting is not a competition between the animal and the man. The animal is not looking to “win the game.” I’m not even sure that, while the animal is acting on survival instincts, it’s conscious of the idea of survival. Nor is hunting a combat. Unless I’m hunting seriously dangerous game like a giant bear or a rhinoceros, I’m in no danger of the animal hurting me. Even if the animal does hurt me it’s not because that creature sees me as the enemy. I’m pretty sure animals don’t get into that kind of abstract thought. (By the way, I’ve not hunted bear or rhinoceros.)