Private transfer issue

raimius

I am currently a resident of Illinois, residing in Colorado (military). I would like to purchase a pistol from a seller in Colorado. I do not have a FOID card, and I no longer recieve mail from my Illinois address (the house was sold when I joined the AF). From my online searches, it appears that I need a FOID card from Illinois even though I no longer live there. However, I don't know about the application, as it only has room for one address. Also, I am 20.

Can anyone shed some light on what I need to do?

If you are stationed in Colorado under military orders, you are considered a Colorado resident for the purpose of purchasing firearms. Illinois law does not come into play at all.

All you need is a copy of your orders and a military ID card to purchase in Colorado. Since you are only 20, you cannot purchase a handgun from a dealer. However, I believe you can purchase one from a private party.

Right, I don't see how you're tied to Illinois. If you haven't transferred your driver's license, you should.

Definitely transfer your driver's license if you want to do this. You have to be able to prove residency in CO if you want to transfer solely under CO's law. If your license says Illinois, you can't say you're a CO resident, and then you could only do the transfer through a dealer.

I don't know what the laws are in CO, but I know what they are in IL. That's why I got fed up and moved to FL. Not only gun laws, just the way the entire state is run. That being said, thanks for serving, it is appreciated.

If your license says Illinois, you can't say you're a CO resident, and then you could only do the transfer through a dealer.