Pre Ban-Post Ban Mgs.....Please explain!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snakeman

I'm new to the Semi's , and I'm not quite sure I understand this "BAN" law.
I know that a law exists that bans more then 10 rounds in a magazine, and to date this is the only one you can buy legally.
So why can you go to a Show and buy the old ones! If you do can you legally carry it in your new weapon?
If somebody can enliten me, THAT WOULD BE GREAT!!!!!
Thanks

"Pre-Bans" were made, domestically, prior to 1994 when the last national ban came into effect. Apparently there was (or is) a loophole that allows high capacity magazines to be imported from abroad (they banned manufacture, not importation). Currently (like this mere moment), pre-bans are okay to buy and sell, if you can afford them.

"Post-Bans" were made after the 1994 cutoff and are available only to military and law enforcement (technically) and usually have something to that effect stamped or engraved on them.

Hi-cap magazines made before sep 1994 are legal to buy and own. Mags made after that date are for law enforcement only. They usually have written on them a date of manufactorer or the words "for law enforcement or govt. use only. It is illegal for a non-law enforcement person to own or possess these mags.

"Post-ban" sometimes also refer to all of the currently legal 10-shot magazines. "Post-ban High-capacity" (more than 10 round mags) is legal only for military/law enforcement applications.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but let's not forget that the 10-round limit law "sunsets" in 20004 if now renewed - let's start gearing up now to defeat the inevitable attempt at renewal by the antis. Fortunately, it's much easier to defeat a new bill than repeal an existing one (law of political inertia).