Prarie dogs

AndABeer

Father-in-law is making noises about a Wyoming prarie dog hunt at the end of this month. My hunting experience consists of Tennessee terrain and African bush. Never taken a shot longer than 100 yds on a live target. I have always wanted to be in a hunting situation where my shooting skills would be adequately tested and a prarie dog hunt sounds pretty close to what I am looking for. I have a 700 .308 that I have absolute confidence in out to 200 yds as that is the longest range I can find around here to shoot on. I also have a relatively new M70 .25-06 that I am still learning about.

I think I am pretty short on time to get up to speed with the .25 but I do have gobs of components for it (87gr & 100 gr). Will the .308 do or is it just too much?

Are prarie dog hunts fun? Subjective question but I am interested in all opinions.

Any other comments, info, or suggestions are welcome.

Prairie dog hunts are a helluva' lotta' fun . . .

but, IMHO, you're badly overgunned with a .308 and 25/06, even with the lighter bullets. On a decent PD hunt you will shoot at least 200 to 300 rounds per day. With those calibers, recoil will soon become a significant factor and fatigue will quickly make it difficult to enjoy the hunt.

I made three PD hunting trips to Montana and West Texas and used a .220 Swift, a 6 PPC and a .223 Remington. My favorite, by far, was the .223 'cause it was easier to shoot all day. If I went now, I would also take a .17 Remington but didn't own that gun at the time.

My advice would be to go PD hunting, but use the time remaining to locate and sight-in a varmint weight .223. Purchase ammo from Black Hills or another good supplier and enjoy the opportunity to do more shooting in a day than most of us shoot in a year.

Oh . . . and take the .308 and 25/06 . . . you can use them while the barrel is cooling on the .223! :)