Powder question

barryc123

Inactive
New guy here, my name is Barry. I’ve been reloading handgun cartridges for five years and haven’t blown up any firearms yet. My son recently gave me an AR for Christmas so I bought the stuff for my blue press to load .223. The Lyman book says 25-28 grains of Varget. I put 25 grains in a case and the powder came up to the bottom of the neck. It made me think I am getting close to a compressed ? load. Is that too much powder? I don’t think 28 grains would even fit. I’m using 55gr fmj Bullets with cannelures from Everglades. This being my first attempt to load a bottleneck cartridge I thought I better ask for help from people who know what they are doing.
Thanks

Doesn't sound like too much to me, and that's what the data says is within acceptable loads.

I use 24 grains 335 and it comes up about that far.

I think you're fine, but then again, I'm not a doctor.

My standard 223 plinking load for semi auto rifles is 25 gr of varget under a 55gr Hornady fmjbt. Its a decent starting load for most rifles, and the case is nearly filled up to the shoulder. no worries, its OK.

Based on Hodgdon's data this will be a compressed load. I don't personally prefer compressed loads, just noy my cup to tea.

As I understand it varget it great in 223 for heavier bullets, and longer barrels. My 223 varget loads were well below my target velocities. so far benchmark and CFE223 have gotten the job done for me. although I wont be getting CFE223 again unless I cant find benchmark as it is not very temperature stable.

25.0 is a safe load, compressed loads are pretty common in the smallish .223 case. My 77/80 gn load for a bolt rifle is 24.5 Varget

Varget is my go-to for 69 gr bullets. I use 25 gr.
For 75-77 gr bullet,I like RE -15.

Actually,I have not loaded any 55 gr for years.H-335 is not a bad choice.

I might try Benchmark with a 55 gr. It works good with 60 gr Varmint Ballistic Tips.