Please help with emergency computer problem - need referral

Futo Inu

I'm sorry this is not gun related, but I need some kind of referral. If this post must be deleted, that's OK, but hopefully I'll get one or two suggestions before that is necessary.

Since I'm no techie and my computer guy I hired cannot fix this problem, I am hoping my TFL friends can direct me somewhere to find a solution; perhaps to a bulletin board similar to TFL for computer stuff. This is an emergency.

The problem is as follows:

I was perfectly happy running Win95, but finally reluctanctly upgraded to Win98 yesterday for no other reason than to be Y2K compliant. I knew in the back of my mind that Microsoft was going to screw up my computer, and sure enough, now that Win98 is on, my Microsoft Schedule Plus (from the MS Office 95) does not work at all, despite numerous attempts at a fix by my computer guy. The error message I get repeatedly when I try to run the program is "Mapisp32. This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down.", followed by an infinite loop on the part of the Schedule software which can only be shut down with the ctrl-alt-del End Task function.

Now please don't tell me to upgrade to Outlook/Office 97, because Outlook is a big piece o' crap schedule program, relative to Schedule+ and others. Been there, tried that. I MUST have Schedule + (or something as good) back up and working. It may or may not matter that I have all along been using Outlook Express for my internet email ONLY, ALONGSIDE the traditional old peer-to-peer Win95 postoffice/server/profile thing for Schedule + and interoffice email (MS Exchange). Somehow Win98 disabled this old server/postoffice setup and I think substituted Outlook Express (or something in Win98) as my "default mail server" - or whatever the hell you call it that disabled the old system.