Please educate me on this firearm

Nate7504

Inactive
Hello all,and thank you for taking the time to read this! First off I am a total noob when it comes to firearms,truth be told I have never fired anything larger then a pellet gun,so with that being said please forgive my severe lack of knowledge! I recently purchased a six shot revolver,ingraved on top of the barel is the following...HARINGTON&RICHARDSON ARMS COMPANY.second line...WARCHESTER MASS USA.PATD OCT 4th 1887,(I think) marked on the star shaped thing that ejects the shells 823,stamped on the front of the cylinder where the shells are loaded 823,under the left grip 6823.the finish is nickel there are no other markings that I can find,it is break action.also the grips have a target looking symbol on both of them,I am not terribly conserned with the value,more so was wondering the caliber,if I can purchase shells,how old it might be things like that? I only paid $30 bucks for it,and I would say 85% of the finish is intact,and all the movement of the parts feels very tight (as in still in good working order) still very precise.thank you so much for any info you folks can provide.

Can you post pictures, including a picture of the caliber marking (should be on the side of the barrel).

I will say that H&R's of that era are not generally high ticket guns and you probably paid a reasonable price. There is some collector interest, but only for those in top condition since H&R made millions of revolvers in that period.

Jim

From your description you have a turn of the century top break revolver made by H&R one of dozens of companies that copied the S&W design. H&R was one of the better copies. There has never been much collector interest but at $30 you made an ok deal. Many of these guns are worn and/or pitted from corrosive ammunition, most were .32 or .38 S&W caliber.