Pistol grips on AR's but not shotguns....

Godspeed

Inactive
For the record I don't have a pistol grip on my Nova, nor do they make one, nor do I desire one. I do wonder, though, why do all assault rifles come with a pistol grip these days yet with shotguns the debate rages? Wouldn't it be more effecive to train with one system perhaps? What makes the assault rifles different from the shotguns that would necessitate a not PG stock?

------------------
Best Regards,
Godspeed

The thought is that a PG gives better control under full auto conditions. I've doubts, having fired the M-14 with and w/o a PG.Full auto control is borderline with either.

I've some experience with folding stocks with PGS, naturally. I regard them as good for an adversary of mine to have.

I've done good work with the standard stock, and doubt I'd do better with a PG stock, tho I might nor do worse. Whatever works for you...

Godspeed, this issue gets a bit confusing due to definitions. Most of us loath the shotgun with a pistol grip "only". Examples would be the "Defender" series or the Pachmayr retrofit pistol grip. Stocks with a pistol grip and a full butt stock, ala an AR-15 are fine.

The true PG only guns look cool but are very difficult to hit with. I used one in a three-gun match and did well. However, I did raise it to see the sights..........

I've owned the in-famous Remington folding stock and an 870 with the pachymayr PG. None of my SGs have one as we speak.

Giz

I had picked up a Sage International collapsing stock with a pistol grip for an 870 (which I don't have yet) a few months back. While I have heard a couple of favorable reports on it and am impressed with its construction/design , I don't know anyone that has or had one to get first hand information on it. Anyone here familiar with it?

Mod1Mark0,