pietta 1851 navy trouble

billiam916

Inactive
Hey guys,
i am new to the FLF and i have a question about a cabelas 1851 navy i just bought, and by reading some of the fourms on the 1851 navy, i think i have an idea what the answer might be.

oops not enough info

anyways,
it is a 36 cal. steel frame puchased from cabelas(i didnt want the brass becaus i heard they are only good for display or casual shooting). i have shot the thing about 100 times and have noticed that the cylinder catch groves are getting wrecked. from my expierence i am assuming that the gun is out of time. also, after the cylinder was already marred, it started to funtion properly and the hammer dosnt bind during each cocking of the hammer. the thing shoots like heaven and i can hit almost anything from 15 yards, but this cylinder probelm is the only mishap i have encountered.
other than that it is a great C&B pistol for the money.
any advice on what to do with it??

I have a herd of cap and balls one is the same as yours.

First of all what you said about the brass frame being only for light shooting, well sir I am afraid your mistaken.
I have one that was built in Italy that I have had since 1970, and I participate in Cowboy matches and its one of the guns that I use. The number of rounds it’s had through it I couldn’t even come to guess.
But the steel bar that the cylinder rides on has a small V notch cut out from the gas escaping between the cylinder and barrel.
Brass is a fine material to make frames out of for low pressure guns like cap and ball revolvers.
I have had the same problem with the one Calabras that you did. What I did to fix it was to totally disassemble the gun and us a honing stone on all the moving part of the action.
When you say that the cylinder lock chewed up the cylinder, do you mean that it cut a ring completely around the cylinder, or just where the notch that the lock goes into.