Pickup tailgate shooting setup?

First,I am not a lawyer,and I do not know what I am talking about!!!
Second,I'm sure it varies state to state,

What constitutes "shooting from a vehicle" ?

Obviously,If I am inside the cab (in my state of Colorado) I'm in big trouble if I get caught shooting out my vehicle window.
In fact,having a round in the chamber of a long gun is a serious violation.

I think the law says "shooting from a vehicle"

I'm quite sure my friendly game warden would become unfriendly if "pheasant hunting" was conducted with shotgunners in the back of a pickup.(As it should be!!)

I suspect(depending on the state laws) parking the truck and using a bench rest in the back of the pickup to shoot prairie dogs might get you a violation,including "shooting from a vehicle"

To me,IMHO,that setup,shooting from the tailgate,seems to be just fine according to common sense,

But I suggest doing some research,and asking the local Sheriff or Game Warden if you are OK .

It would not surprise me if we could be arrested for resting the forend across the top frame tube of a bicycle.
Best to know first.
Another caution,shooting "on,about,or across any public road or hiway".That CAN apply to some two-track across the desert if it is a designated route.

Last edited:
In some states, merely leaning your gun loaded against a vehicle is a no-no as well, so know the law in your state

First things first: that is a pretty cool set-up.

Unfortunately, as I found out earlier this year, it's also absolutely illegal in AZ. I wasn't shooting from my vehicle; I'm just saying 'unfortunately,' because I think that's a neat idea.