picking mosin with good barrel need help.

Ultra12

i got an itch to get myself a mosin nagant and do some work ( like some members of this site) i understand that one of the most important things in picking a rifle that old is a good barrel. So my question is what should i look for and what to watch out for. I am new to guns and shooting ( 3 years ) so i am still learning and your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Unless the rifle comes from a private seller, most Mosins I come across are either seriously fouled and in need of a good cleaning or covered in cosmoline and in need a good cleaning. Some people avoid counterbored rifles, I don't really care. A matching bolt and receiver is always nice. I've seen pristine, original rifles that can't keep 5 rounds on the same target at 100 yards and I've seen refurbished, counterbored rifles shoot 2-3moa. Unless you pick up a Finnish M39, Mosin accuracy is a dice roll.

you mentioned counter bore. you can check counter bore looking from bolt side or barrel end?

A counterbored barrel has been drilled out at the muzzle. This was done, at a Soviet arsenal, to correct crowns worn down by poor cleaning habits. I've seen enough of 'em that I can tell just by looking but a quick way to verify is to run a straightened paperclip down the muzzle. If you hit a ridge about an inch in, it's been counterbored. Another quick way to check is with a standard Bic pen. The pen won't fit inside a barrel that hasn't been bored.

Last edited:
Unless the rifle comes from a private seller, most Mosins I come across are either seriously fouled and in need of a good cleaning

Yeah. Cleaning cosmo isn't a bad thing to me - that just means they cared enough to attempt to protect the rifle from the elements over time.