Peter Pan for Lube???

8thPistolero

Inactive
I'm an experienced shooter although new to cap n ball. After reading about the importance of using non-petro based lubes with these guns I thought of asking you guys if creamy peanut butter would make a nice lube for using over the ball. It just seems to have the qualities you guys talk about and just about the ideal consistency. Again, I'm sure this has come up before but since I'm a newbie I just thought to ask.....

BillBucks,

7 bucks for 6 ounces Bore Butter, 2 bucks for 18 ounces Peter Pan?

Think you got it backwards.

Should smell good, anyway.

Cheers,

George

Yeah, peanut butter is cheaper for sure. I just thought it might be a viable option instead of Crisco or some beeswax concoction. But then again, there might be a downside to using it that I, as a newbie, don't know about.

Sundance44s

I`ve never used peanut butter because .. i`m scared the little fuzzy tailed critters may try to say i`m shooting over a baited barrel . :D

8thPistolero this is the concistancy you'd be happy shootin' all day with accurately. The peanut butter would be kinda sticky more than beeswax. And the minute you let off one round the rest off the chambers would be liquid peanutbutter.
I do make my own but have a friend selling boxes of lube pills for not a whole lot a money. You may wanna give um an email...will post below.
Anyway here's a pic of two of the four pans I made today, before they became lube pills.

90# Junkyard Dog is selling lube pills. See the pic below. About 200 44's in a box and 300 36's in a box. Free labled box. Lubrication of cap&ball revolvers. Lube pill(grease cookie) lubrication placed over or under the ball in the chamber. Recommended method,"place under the ball & over the powder". Keeps your barrel and chambers from fouling all day long and guards against chain fire and cylinder drag when used with blackpowder. The pills work. contact: "90# Junk Yard Dog" (rifle@vol.com)

Click the Thumbnail Pic below