Patton 1911

Bucksnort1

When I watch a WWII movie, I look for authenticity in equipment and weapons. I know movie producers and directors can't find 100 German Panzer tanks for a tank scene or 100 ME109G fighters for a scene so they substitute but when it comes to onesey twosey items, like an American pistol, I expect it to be accurate. One movie in particular where the producers were too lazy to do the necessary research is, "Where Eagles Dare". One of the first scenes is Clint Eastwood and Richard Burton being inserted behind enemy lines in German in a Bell helicopter.

Recently, I watched a few minutes of the movie, "Patton". I was at the point where Patton's unit is being straffed by German fighters. You see Patton with his back to the camera for most of the scene, shooting at the fighters with his 1911. He then faces the camera and continues to shoot. Now, I'm not an expert on the 1911 and other Colt pistols but I have seen enough photos and read enough articles to know there were predecessors to the 1911, in different calibers, of course. These pistols have the basic shape of a 1911 but are somewhat thinner. The scene doesn't allow you to scrutinize what Scott is holding in his hand but to me it does not look like a 1911. It looks like a predecessor to the 1911. No, it wasn't his 1873 Peacemaker with the ivory grips he wore on his right hip. Any comments?

Patton fired at the German plane with his 1908 Colt Hammerless. One scene showed him tucking it into his blouse. No where in the movie does it show him handling a 1911.:) I know Patton carried a Colt Hammerless, he was also photographed with a Colt Woodsman. and reports states he had a Remington 51, plus his two revolvers. A High Power? I've never heard or read that.:confused: