+P in a BHP

AndABeer

I've been getting my 9mm Hi Power into carry trim and it just occured to me that I do not know if it is +P rated. So, is it?

Hello. Some advise against it including (I think) Wayne Novak and the head man at Cylinder & Slide (cannot remember his name). This is due to some of the older guns having "soft" steel. The new MkIIIs do not suffer from this malady I'm told. Plus P rounds will accelerate wear in any firearm including the HP.

I've been shooting BHPs for 31 years now. Much has been with standard ball, but untold thousands of hot handloads have been fired by me in my two oldest HPs, built in '71 & '76. I've fired many more thousands of these warmer handloads in my later HPs including MkIIIs. I've never had a part break nor or my guns' falling apart from use. The weak point I'm told is the support bar that the barrel's feed ramp rests on and the locking lugs and their recesses in the slide. The bar can break and the recesses/lugs can get rounded. This comes from accelerated unlocking and added impetus when the slide/bbl move rearward from the hotter loads.

For years, I've routinely replaced the standard HP 9mm recoil spring (16lb) with a Wolff conventional 18.5lb to combat this and have recently added shok buffs from Buffer Technologies.

Plus P ammo is quite expensive in factory trim, but over the years, I've fired quite a bit of it......with no problems in my HPs. I think that if you practice with it regularly and then use it for only hunting and/or self-defense, you'll have no problems.