Optics for Rem 700 VTR 308

Gamestalker

Inactive
What will do the bill from 100 to 400 yards and not get knocked around by the heavier ballistic loads for this chambering. Naturally I meet low light situations more often than not. Please, the rings are as important as the scope - so help would be appreciated. Got the gun, bare, and wanna go this season with something that works. Have a Leupold 4X14 on my REM 223 VTR but would just as soon leave it where it is and get something better for low light and cheaper (!). The Osprey 10-40X looks pretty neat, but there is nothing reliable on it out there. Been burned by glitzy, cheap optics before. Any advice would be appreciated.

I'm new to scopes due to eye problems and cheaping out is not the way to go. Want to buy some? I've got them.

Nikon is the best lower priced scope that I've found.

Leupold VX-II or VX-3
Nikon Monarch
Zeiss Conquest

Leopold rings and bases will do you well for about $100 total.

If this is a rifle that you are going to keep forever, get a scope that will last forever. Pay once, and you are good to go. Tough to complain about Leupold's customer service ... I would lean that way, personally.

I have the Leupold VXIII in Leupold rings on a Leupold mount on my 700P .308.

It is nice and bright and works fine. I also have a few Nikons and they work as well.

The Leupold is a 6.5-20 I think. The rifle is in the safe now so I do not know off hand.:D

There are lots of great scopes out there and many have already been mentioned. The Leupold vari X II is also a great scope for the money. Another one not mentioned is the Bushnell Elite 4200 and they fall between the Vari X II and the Vari V III optically and cost less then both of them new.

As others have stated the Nikon scopes are good scopes and are also bright and clear. I have two Nikon scopes and my last one a Nikon Coyote Varmint in 4.5x14x40mm is a great scope.