Opinions on the .280 Remington

topknot

Inactive
I have alot of experiance with 8mm Mauser, 30-06,7.62x39 for deer hunting and plinking.
What do you think about the .280 Rem?

I've been using a 280 (barrel marked 7mm express) for the last 6 or 7 years, almost exclusively. I love the round. I've been shooting a old tang safety Ruger M77 with a heavy and long barrel. It's a heavy gun and recoil is very light.

Last edited:
A most outstanding round. If I could have only 1 centerfire hunting rifle caliber, it'd be in the top 2 or 3 contenders, probably #1. No, .270. No, .280... dangit!

I have a 280 AI on a pre-64 Winchester action.It is my favorite rifle and I use it for deer and elk.It has a Schneider barrel with a 1 in 9 twist which is pretty standard for 7MM.It shoots 140 grain and 160 grain fine and I have not had the urge to try other bullet weights.Of course,as with most of these cartridges,it will not do anything a 30/06 won't do. But, it sure would be boring without some variety.

My opinion: Best all around cartridge for the lower 48

My opinion: Best all around cartridge for the lower 48 - my opinion the .270 is marginal on elk and the .30-'06 is marginal as a varmint rifle or a plinker so the .280 is the better all around. For those who figure beware the man with one gun.

On the other hand the .280 offers nothing special to the man with 2 guns - say a 6mm/243 on the lower end and a .30-'06 on the heavier end.

A fine step up in power from the 7X57 or the 7mm'08 or the .260 but burns a little more powder and kicks a little harder.

I have a 280 in a Model 70 featherweight classic one of my favorite deer rifles. I feel it's better than a 270 can reload a greater range of bullets. It's only a little bit less in velocity withe the 140 to 160 grain bullets than a 7mm mag. I don't think anyone can go wrong by owning one