"Only ten rounds through it..."

Carmike

Hello all,

Not sure where to put this question....but here goes.

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to firearms, but I've gotten the bug, and my wife (thankfully) loves shooting, too, so I/we are looking to add a few to the collection.

I search online for used guns, and I frequently see posts with "I've only put 10/20/100 rounds through this gun. It shoots great!" I've seen these for both rifles and handguns.

These put me on my guard....why would someone buy a gun, shoot it a dozen times, find it to be a great-shooting gun, and then sell it? I'm not talking about large calibers, either. I see it on .22, .38/.357, 9mm, .243, etc. Even AR's. I'm new to this hobby, and I don't trust my ability to know which used guns are in good working shape and which have some structural problem. I find myself avoiding these guns, just because it seems fishy. Though I do see it quite often, so I'm not sure if I'm just being too suspicious, or if it truly is a little fishy.

So I'm asking you all here, who aren't trying to sell me a gun. I realize people might sell guns for lots of reasons (money trouble, divorce, changing interests, not what they expected, etc.), but...why does it appear so many people buy a gun, take it to the range, shoot it a few times, find it accurate and fun to shoot, and then sell it?

Carl

It happens a lot. Easy for a new gun owner to be intimidated.

I just bought a used but never fired Beretta 85. The slide is very hard to work and the takedown and reassembly would scare off a newbie.

Dad had a Taurus 357 for 22 years and I'm the only one who ever shot it. Less than 50 rounds!

"only driven to church and back on Sunday's by a little old lady from Pasadena"....

SOMETIMES, that IS true. Other times, not so much...

On the other hand, saying "I've shot the crap out of this gun, and can't hit the broad side of a barn with it..." probably won't help the sale...;)