One powder for .38/.357?

Robert1955

Inactive
Hello everyone, I am just starting out with reloading using a Lee Hand Press for 38 and 357 for my 4" GP100 and was wondering if there was one powder that would work well for both calibers? My bullet selection is a 158 HP for both but could drop to a 125 for the 38. I also plan on plated bullets only so leading should not be a problem. Thanks for any advice.

Do you want self-defense power or plinking only? If all you want to do is make holes in paper, I wouldn't be surprised to find that there was a .38 Spl-safe load that was also within acceptable limits for the .357; defense applications would have to be calculated differently.

I would imagine that anything you can safely load in .38 Spl would be completely safe in .357, but I'm open to correction if I am wrong.

Paper punching only, In my web research I am finding the larger case of the 357 affects the powder selection, a 38+P load using the same powder would be fine if it makes sense.

If you are willing to run warm 38 Special +P loads, you might look at something like 2400. You can run both a +P 38 and .357 Mag level loads with it. Personally, though, I would just load the magnum cases and forget the added complexity of keeping track of warm .38's.

Power Pistol will run more normal 38 Sprecial loads, and not-quite-full-magnum loads.

The basic problem you are up against is the powders that are slow enough to provide maximum velocity in the magnum don't ignite or burn as effectively at lower pressures than the magnum loads produce. Faster powders, suitable for the lower pressures, burn too quickly to produce magnum velocities without going over the published maximum pressure for the round.

Note that plated bullets can still produce metal (copper) fouling over time and that they are not the same as jacketed bullets and generally cannot be driven at equally high pressures before they start fouling.