Old Stevens double barreled shotgun

GDotterer

Inactive
I am looking for info on my grandfather's double barreled shot gun. I am a novice about shotguns, so any info would be appreciated. (When manufactured, value) It is a model 235, double barreled, wooden stock, 2 triggers, 2 hammers. Barrel is 31 inches from front to hammers. It needs minor restoration. Probably hasn't been used in 20 or more years. Hope someone out there can help.

I couldn't say but wanted to respond with congratulations to you for having a double in the first place. I'd choose a double over an auto or pump most times.

The only info on the Model 235 in my Blue Book is it was manufactured between 1912-32, and 61,500 units were made. Stevens shotguns are not really collectible,, but generally good shooters. Your Grandad's gun should probably be looked at by a gunsmith before firing. My guess at a value would be < $400.

Mine is a "J Stevens A & T Co" Model 225. Made in Chicopee Falls, MASS. These were utility shotguns, and most farms around here 80-100 years ago had one for rabbits, squirrels, varmints, hawks, quail, trespassers, crackers, and white trash in one's watermelon patch. My specimen belonged to my wife's grandfather, who was born in the 1880s. It is in pretty good shape. Many of these guns will be split to some degree in the thin wood just in front of or behind the pistol grip. My gunsmith guy put some pins and glue and some kind of "plastic wood" in the damaged parts and said I could shoot it some without damage. I ordered up a case (250) of low pressure 2.5 inch shells for occasional use. I haven't measured my chambers, but I bet they are 2 9/16. Most of us just shot 2 3/4 inch shells in these old guns, and that just made the thin spots split that much worse.

Mine still keeps the white trash out of my watermelon patch.;)
DSC02098.jpg