Old Pistol Values

FPrice

I have a question about the valuation of older firearms, particularly as it applies to old semi-automatic pistols.

I just acquired a Mauser HSC as described in "Need Help With Two Old Pistols". The offer I made was a bit below book value for two reasons. First, the pistol's finish was worn, although I will be the first to tell you that I am no expert in evaluating this grading criteria. While the blueing was worn, the pistol was still in good shape. I estimated abouty 75-80%. As far as I could tell, it was mechanically sound.

But the biggest drawback was the lack of a magazine. Now, I can buy a replacement from Numrich for $27, but I have been advised that this will most likely be a reproduction, not an original Mauser magazine.

Approximately how much would the value of a semi-automatic pistol be lowered for lack of an original magazine? I understand some pistols came with serial-numbered magazines? Is this a factor?

Any help in this area will be greatly appreciated.

A good question and I will try to give a good answer.

First, an item (pistol in this case) must be collectible, that is, some people must want to own it as part of a collection, not for use. Rarity is one factor, but I can make a one-of-a-kind Keenan Special, and its value will be nil. There must be some indication that the maker's products are collectible, are of sufficient number and variety to be of interest and must be at least relatively uncommon. The more variety, the more likely an item is to be collectible; military use or some other "romantic" use ("Old West" for example) adds to the value.

Beyond that, as a general rule, the closer an item is to its original factory condition, the higher its value will be. Many collectors will not touch anything that is not in new or nearly new condition. Most of us, however, if we want to own items that interest us, must settle for items that are in lesser condition and cost less.