Odd - so who owns it if I don't?

Hal

Just looked at the deeds to the 4 properties I "own".
I have no mineral rights to any of them.

So, when did this come about?
Or - more to the point - exactly who.whom is behind it?

With all the eminent domain grabs going on, I have to wonder..

Well, you need to look at your state laws or at where the rights got divested from your deeds. I'm a lawyer in NM, but I don't know anything about OH laws. You might run down to the bookstore or library and pick up the 4th ed. of Real Property in a Nutshell by West if you want a simple overview of real property law.

Hell, you never know...you might be able to pick the mineral rights up on the cheap. I'm not positive about this, but I think a lot of times the state holds the mineral rights until someone stakes a claim.

Interesting article I once read and don't remember all the details or if it was accurate. If someone could verify I would appreciate it. It seems that in only the 13 original colonies did the states keep the mineral rights to any pubilically owned lands. When all other states were admitted to the Union (except texas) all meneral rights to any public lands were transferred to the Federal Gubmint. Therefore if the property you own in Ohio was public land when Ohio became a state then the mineral rights are owned by the Feds.

Since Texas was an independent nation when joining the Union concessions were made for the State of Texas to keep the mineral (oil) rights rather than giving them up.

Maybe this is what happened but who knows. I understand that in certain western states water rights are a big deal but having lived all my life in SC I can't say.

Last edited:
Water rights are in facts a huge deal here in the West, and that's a fascinating area of the law. The oldest still-running case in the federal system is a water-rights case from here in NM.