Odd 45 cal 220 gr bullet...

bjm42

220 gr .45 projectile. Sorry no picture. No load data in my 4 manuals. What is it, & how used?
I'm calling it "half jkt" lead nose flat point. Diameters: .450 @ jkt, .451 @ base of knurled lead "upper half" of bullet; length is .645. These were a gift, but history unknown. Will try in Glock .45, if I can find load data.
Maybe can be used in 45 Colt?
Appreciate some wisdom, so I know what I'm dealing with. Thanks :)

Last edited:
I've got no personal experience with them, but I have heard of half jacketed bullets, or, as you said, half jackets. 451 would be a bit small for 45 Colt, I believe those might be a 45acp bullet. If I had them and had nothing else to shoot them in, I'd load them in a Colt and just not expect great accuracy from them

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

I have never seen what you describe as a bullet for 45acp. This sounds like a bullet for a revolver cartridge. Hornady made half jackets back in the 60's

I recall the old Hornady half jacketed bullets, but the "knurled lead" part does not fit.
Also 220 grains is an odd weight.
I conclude them to be the product of a small shop, or DIY bullet maker.

Load data:
Powder charge in middle of 230 grain .45 ACP range.
Seat to where it fits the magazine and chamber and runs up the feed ramp from magazine to chamber. If it will at all, depending on shape.

The nose profile should give you a clue, SWC or flat tip would be meant for revolver use, RN for semi auto.

Back in "the dark ages" a fair number of people swaged their own half and 3/4 jacketed bullets.

The alloy of the lead wire used for the cores was usually very soft, sometimes even pure lead. jacket material could be bought, or "found" and some bullets were jacketed using brass from fired cases or copper from pennies, or other sources.