O/U or semi?

tdgator

I am an admitted shotgun newbie. I would like to purchase a one soon to get started with skeet / clays, but would also like it for turkey and small game. I know there isn't a "one gun does all" gun out there, but if I wanted to be as good as I can be with clays, is an over under the way to go? Are they more accurate or is it more of the design that makes it more appropriate for clays. I have shot a Browning A5 quite a few times and have looked at the Browning Citoris, although they are very expensive. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Semi-auto. Not even really a question if you want it to be a combo gun. Plus less recoil (easier on the body, faster follow up shots), same POI (not exactly easy to align 2 barrels, and they're on different planes anyway), holds more bullets (I like more bullets).

I own an O/U and semi automatic shotgun. I can tell you that you can use either one for what you are talking about. However I would recommend the semi automatic only because you are looking for a combo gun. The auto has the capability of switching barrels to either a deer barrel and scope or a longer barrel. You also have a 5 shot gun compared to a 2 shot gun. In general it is a more flexible gun compared to the O/U.

Don't get me wrong, I really like my O/U shotgun. I hunt grouse, pheasant and shoot skeet and sporting clays with it. You need to decide what works best for you.

Jim

Are semi autos frowned upon in the clay shooting world?

Yes and no. In some clay games the shell being ejected towards another shooter is a big no-no. However, there are modifications you can make to keep that from happening.

In other clay games, semis are perfectly acceptable.

For a combo gun, you really should get a semi. A Beretta would probably be the best choice.

Everyone here seems to be on the semi-auto bandwagon, so let me weigh in for the double barrels. First, let's address some things: