O.K. then, does the .45 have the same maximim effective range as a 9mm?

vmaam

If I carry a Kimber ultra carry can I engage a threat at the same distance as I would with a 9mm and expect the same range performance?

IMHO, while a good shot can shoot pistol at 100 yards, the max effective range for the handgun is 50 yards and in the real world within 7 yards is more like it. At longer ranges the 45 has more drop than the 9mm and range estimation is more critical, but within 25 yards there isn't that much of a difference.

As far as terminal effectiveness, that's a whole can of worms that has been and will be debated without resolution forever.

Not being an expert, I offer the following in the spirit of humility:

At long distances, I'd definitely take the 9mm over the .45 as far as accuracy goes. Personally, for long distance work, I'd step up to a much more powerful caliber.

I say this as a person who prefers .45 for most purposes. It's a great caliber, but it just ain't moving very fast. .45 Super is another story. :D

At long distances, the .45ACP will definitely have more drop than the 9mm. But out to 50 yards or so, the drop is relatively inconsequential.

At LFI-2, we fired at the 50 yard line using the roll-over prone position. I had the best group, 18 shots in a group of about 6-8" or so. I was using a full-size Kimber M1911. The fellow next to me was the best shot in the class, he was using a Glock 19. But I kicked his butt at the 50 yard line (he reciprocated later :(); I suspect the difference was long sight radius and crisp trigger of my M1911.