NYC Owners Beware.

A few days ago my doorbell rang at 9PM.
I opened the door to see two police officers--complete with body armor & NYPD raid jackets-- outside asking me about a pump shotgun that I bought in Long island in 2004.
(NYC residents need a rifle/shotgun permit to own long guns, which is not required anywhere else in the state.)
When I told them that I was an active peace officer ( hence exempt from these laws) they acted embarrassed and then asked if I had my ID handy.
I invited them upstairs where they could check it in a more private setting.
After all was squared away they told me that they are part of a joint task force assigned to check "yellow forms" at out of town gun shops and see if any NYC resident without a permit has bought any long guns.
Fair warning--like it or not if you live in the 5 Boros do not buy any NYC banned long guns, and make sure your others are legally registered.

Last edited:
That's sad. If these are not issue weapons, why do you get to be exempt? Not trying to start something, just wondering why some animals are more equal.

Quite futile when contrasted to non-law abiding citizens owning guns. NYC police are instructed to check on weapons that leave a paper trail. Many weapons without paper are lost to the criminal world yet these are the weapons that require a 9 PM knock on the door by NYC officers. So much for gun registration being an effective tool for controlling crime.

Love my Louisiana.

NYC residents need a rifle/shotgun permit to own long guns

Is consenting to periodic checks, a prerequisite to obtaining that permit?

So basically...they are searching for non-permitted gun ownership, and using a permit list to find non-compliance? Bad stuff.

I can't wait for this $#!T to go down in flames. I don't know how these officers can do this with a straight face. :confused: