NOE brass mold

Old 454

I just purchased my first hollow point mold from NOE. I bought the 452 230 grain small opening mold in brass.

Any thoughts on break in. I have never had a hollow point mold let alone a brass mold.

I have been casting now for about 2 yrs. Using Lee and a few ild ideal molds.

Thanks for any info you can share with me.

They come with directions from NOE. I recommend following those.:)

http://noebulletmolds.com/smf/index.php/topic,2.0.html
My only disagreement is with smoke. I definitely say NO smoke, but to each his own. Some people even smoke, themselves!;)

Do use a hot plate. Run the mold hotter than iron molds. (Cast very fast until you are getting good bullets or start seeing frosted bullets)
Don't stop to admire them, don't stop to cull them, don't put sprues back, just cast like your arm was on fire and it'll start dropping perfect bullets and you can then find your rhythm and can even cull and put sprues back later, after you know how long your sprue puddle needs to sit before cutting. Have fun!
You'll love brass!! :D

Brass is great.

Follow NOE's break-in instructions.

But don't over-heat the mold blocks while casting. Brass warps easier and more profoundly than iron or aluminum molds, and rarely returns to its original shape. (This is a bigger problem with some other companies' molds [like Accurate] - NOE's aren't as bad.)
If your bullets are getting frosty, air-cool the mold for 30-60 seconds and then resume casting at a slower tempo.

Don't be afraid - just be mindful.

I just jumped on a group buy for a 185 grain tapered "snover" style bullet for 32-40 over there. My first group buy. I opted for a brass 2 cavity mould. My first brass mould. It should be interesting.

My 200 grain Saeco mould casts a nearly perfect bullet, and seems to stabilize ok in my 15 twist barrel, but I'm curious about a lighter, pointier, bullet. I get 1" at 100 pretty easily using a scope with the 200 grainer, I think this one might do better!