Nightmare in Syracuse

Last year I drove into NY from another State, conducted my business and then flew out of Syracuse.

In NY, you MAY NOT HAVE A PISTOL WITHOUT A NY STATE PISTOL PERMIT. Unless you are traveling directly through from a State in which you may have it, TO a state in which you may have it.

I found this out the hard way when attempting to fly out of Syracuse last year. When I declared it, the airline informed me they had to notify the local police, who then took possesion of my weapon from the custody of the airline.

Now, I've been flying on and off for 20 years, and this was a first.

There were no charges filed, but I had to pay a local FFL plus shipping ($125.00) to have my gun returned to me. The gun was already out of my possession and on it's way back to Vegas (where I'm licensed to CCW).

The officer informed me that up until a year prior, they were arresting people when they attempted to declare it to the airline for having an otherwise legally possessed gun in NY. When I ask why they stopped arresting people, he said that the DOJ sent a cease and desist letter to their Dept. ordering them to change their policy.

I can only conclude that they just wanted to make it a PITA .

Why were you surprised that they enforced the law.

Do you often travel to other states with your firearm without knowing the local laws?

Seems like you got off easy and cheap. They could have kept your firearm.

Why were you surprised that they enforced the law.

Do you often travel to other states with your firearm without knowing the local laws?

Seems like you got off easy and cheap. They could have kept your firearm.