Newbie with ?'s about M1 Carbine

awisler

I'm new to M1 carbines (looking to buy my first one), and wanted to ask about one I was looking at. I'm told it's a WWII carbine that was re-imported after spending time in Korea, and that it's been refurbished (including restocking and reparkerizing). It's a Winchester receiver #6515XXX, with a ramp rear sight bearing a stamped H within a shield. It has a ? Type III ring with bayo lug and SA stamping. The barrel has "BLUE SKY / ARLINGTON, VA" stamped on the left side (?this is the reimport stamp?) and on the top is stamped with a W and also a W with an ? I superimposed within an oval. The bore looks pretty good to me. It has a round bolt and a flip safety. The stock is obviously new Mahogany, but does has a slight split behind the oiler slot. The finish is even, light gray parkerized. My dealer wants $475 for it. Is this a good deal for a semi-collectable? Any advice?

I realize I should invest in a good book on M1 carbines and I could probably answer some of this myself, but any wisdom would be appreciated. Thanks!

Andrew

Hi, Andrew,

The price is (I think) a tad high for a Blue Sky gun. They take a hit on price mainly because Blue Sky sometimes stamped the import marking so hard and deep. They also refinished most of their guns so the even Parkerizing may not be original. The adjustable sight with the H is correct for Winchester in that number range. Winchester type 3 bands with the bayonet lug were either not marked or marked with a C. Other Winchester parts, like the trigger housing, slide, and bolt should be marked with a W.

If it looks like mostly Winchester, it should be collectible in spite of the import marking (and the refinish?). I think it might be worth trying to find a Winchester stock and replace any non-W parts.

Jim

Jim