Newbie to 1911 has .45 ammo?????

Cyric13

I'm new to guns and don't have the time or energy to reload(not yet at least, I'm in college no time) so where can I buy .45 FMJ ammo in bulk that is good for pratice shooting and that has similar performance of a good defensive round? Also what is a good defensive round to use? I really don't want to use +P rounds(are +P rounds alright to use in a Charles Daly 1911 A1?). Also how do I store ammo I've heard fo ammo boxes just don't know where to get them. Will army ammo boxes work good?(The green ones that are retangular shape.)

thanks, Cyric13

[This message has been edited by Cyric13 (edited January 16, 2000).]

Stay away from +p .45, especially if you are breaking in your gun.

Buy bulk, some gun dealers advertise weekly specials on ammo. Buy then. American Eagle, Fiochi, Sellier Bellot, Winchester, UMC are all fine, affordable fmj target ammo. My preference is Winchester, American Eagle, and Fiochi in that order.

Go to gun shows, I just bought 500 rounds of Winchester fmj for $90. $9 a box isn't bad, and it came with its own ammo box too boot (woohoo).

As for defense rounds, I'm sure someone else knows more about this than me. I settle for whatever jacketed hollow point feeds reliably and is affordable. I buy boxes of factory reloads for $13. They work fine and are affordable enough to practice with.

Cyric13,

I generally agree with Muscles, even to the manufactures of range/target/plinking .45 ACP 230 grain FMJ used. However, I would not ignore the Internet as a source of relatively inexpensive, decent quality ammunition.

I have bought from Natchez, Cheaper than Dirt, JG Sales and Ammoman with reasonable results.

Based on an order earlier this month I strongly recommend Ammoman, where I just purchased 500 rounds of Fiocchi .45 ACP 230 grain FMJ at $10 per box including shipping. In addition, Ammoman's customer service was great:
> delivery in two or three days
> all shipping charges included