Newbie Reloading Questions

1972RedNeck

I have been reloading for over 5 years, but still very new to it. I have only used a Hornady press, Hornady dies, Hornady bullets, and Hornady load data. Very comfortable with the process and looking to branch out to cheaper bullets. Bought the following bullets for my 357 mag, and my 45 ACP/45 Colt/454 Casull:

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1021120994?pid=371672

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1021119937?pid=556629

What do I use for load data for different bullets? My Lyman 50th and Hornady manual both have data for these weights of bullets, but not these bullets specifically. Since the OAL length is the same, the seating depth is different, which can change pressure drastically.

How do I know how to load them?

Also, how fast can I push them? I like extra hot loads but don't want any leading...

Correct fitment and assembly is critical for the assembly of powerful and accurate loads with cast bullets.

Lyman makes a cast bullet handbook #4. I recommend you should read it. It's available online where books are sold.

Do they pass through the revolver cylinder with minimal effort? Get a bullet and push it through with a pen. Light effort is ideal.

If they do not push through easily they might scrape the bullets coating off and cause horrific leading.

It is necessary to both expand deeper, and sometimes crimp deeper, with cast bullets. These are not xtp bullets that can be slip fit by chamfering the case mouth.

The amount of each, you have to find out with your particular dies, brass, bullets, gun.

The heavy loads may walk out of the cases under recoil, you will have to test that for yourself.

If you want an extra margin of safety and reduced pressure, load in 357 brass using 38+P powder charge to start the work up, and work your way up, to stop when leading or accuracy become problematic.

You can also use powder charge data for a bullet of heavier weight if you are lacking data.