Newbie question about scope and eye releif

LF_Newbie

Hi everyone,

I hope I am posting in the right location for this question:

I have a Vortex Viper PST 3151 on my Browning X bolt Hell's Canyon speed. I've been shooting it on just one occasion at a local range and almost got scope bit. -I obviously don't want that...... I'd rather feel really comfortable and not feel afraid that I'll get "dinged" in the forehead by the scope.

So, today I sat down with the rifle in the best bench rest position I can replicate at home, and measured the distance between my eyebrow and the scope.

There is 1.9 inches.

Realizing that I am a complete newbie: That seems a bit too close for comfort to me.... -but I need to be that close to avoid vignetting.

Do I need to go find a better scope, with longer eye relief?

As a side note: I think I also will need taller scope rings. I feel like I have to really work to adjust myself to get in the right position behind the scope

What cartridge? Generally you want the scope low. Perhaps you need to move the scope forwards or bac on the rifle to get it in a more natural position in relation to a comfortable cheek weld and eye relief position.

Check the specs on your scope via the manufacturers web site. I don’t believe that 1.9” is correct....that’s crazy close. Even the “bad” scopes for eye relief are 3+ inches. I think your measurement is incorrect due to how you’re measuring or how you’re holding your head on the stock. Again, look it up. A suggestion: when shooting “hard kickers”, sit as upright as you can even if it means adding onto the front support. Being new, you’re probably putting your head in a position that’s going to let the natural raise of the gun under recoil to hit you in the head due to your leaning over the gun rather than looking through the scope with your head behind the scope properly.

I don’t believe that 1.9” is correct....that’s crazy close.

Thanks, that's wat I thought, too.