Newbie needs advice regarding trap shotgun

The shotgun you have would be a good one, whatever it is. Don't get trapped by the idea you have to be breaking q00 straight by next week, use your present shotgun and have fun. After using it for a while, you'll have a better idea of what needs to be changed to suit YOU, and proceed according.

Of course, if you've no shotgun at present,try the Remington 1100, the Beretta 390 and 391 series(Never owned one, but folks whose opinions I trust use them)or peruse the used gun ads on the BB at your local range.

If you like pumps, and don't mind the slight disadvantage you get with one, the 870 Remington is one of the best shotguns ever made....

Hi there, I'm new to trap shooting also and bought a Remington 1100 Classic Trap. A very nice gun. Gun fit is most important. You won't go wrong for the price about $700. Of course there are the Perrazzi's and Ljutic's, although BIG BUCKS!

Good Luck,
Carol

xtrarnds:

When you say "trap" do you mean general clay targets or specifically trap -- 5 shots at 5 stations in a semi-circle, 16 yards back from the house, single birds going out at random angles? Sometimes the term trap can be used to apply to other target games. There are several recent posts in the archives explaining the differences.

For trap any gun will do to start. A 12 gauge with a modified choke or tighter is recommended for trap because the birds are going away. My first trap gun was a Remington 870 field model that I shot for a year until the bug bit to get a gun specific to the game.

Because trap is single target, action type doesn't matter as much. However, guns specifically designed for trap are set up to shoot higher. If you intend to also shoot skeet or sporting clays a semi-auto or over/under is preferable because the second shot is a little harder with a pump. Sporting and skeet guns shoot flatter because the targets are not always rising and going away.