NEWBIE ML advice needed please

zahnzieh

Hello all, I am new to this forum and I am also new to muzzleloading! I plan on hunting with my ML, having hunted with a bow and sabot slug shotgun previously - I just got tired of paying the high sabot shotgun ammo prices($13.00 for 5 shells?!!) I could not resist the claims of accuracy with the new in-line ML. Anyway, I plan on purchasing a Knight .50 in-line sometime soon. How would you guys reccomend that I break the gun in at the range - I want to practice with it and then hunt a late ML season. As jacketed sabot rounds are more expensive to shoot, what would you reccommend as a good range round and load? Also, what scopes seem to work best? What jacketed rounds work best - I want to get the Long Range Hunter - anything to look out for with these guns? Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks - Great forum Guys!

I'm not much of a Knight fan, mostly because of their disc system. They are great rifles, I just don't like having to keep up with anything extra for my rifle. I use the Thompson Encore.

Since a muzzleloader,to be accurate, requires cleaning out, between shots, you are actually breaking in the barrel, as you are shooting at the range. Since almost every projectile will have a different point of impact, with the same sighting, it becomes important to sight in, and practice, with what you intend to hunt with. I use the 240 grain .44 magnum pistol bullet, and the maxi mag sabots, with 100 grains of 777 powder. This gives me 1 1/2
" groups at 100 yards. That's about as far a shot as I can take where I hunt, but the range of these guns is pretty much limited to the shooters capabilities.