newbie from Peru

gonado

Inactive
Hi im new to the forum and to rifle shooting, i have plenty of experience with handguns and shotgun but bery littl3 with rifles just some shots with a .22lr, thats why i want to ask if a .243 is a good rifle to start with i know .22lr is the ideal caliber to start but here guns are expensive and law doesnt help either so i cant afford to have 2 rifles right now and i also want to use it for dear hunting.Please let me know if it is possible to learn good technique and accurate shoting with that cartridgeThanksPs sorry if this is not the right place for this threat

Welcome to the forum.
There's not a thing wrong with the .243 for deer hunting, or learning to become a good rifleman, either.
Just investigate the choices of bullets that are available in that caliber, and use the load that's best for your purpose.
How large are your deer?

Welcome

I'm not a fan of the .243

My taste aside, it makes for a great dual purpose, small game and deer sized game rifle combination.
It is a flat shooting varmint cartridge that also is quite effective on deer. You must tailor your loads and bullets to your game, but there are many people that find it suitable for their needs.

Welcome to the forum! A .243 is a fast and flat round, but according to the size of deer you find in Peru, they are probably somewhat hefty. I would go with a higher caliber that has many choices of bullet grains. A 30.06 could range from 150 grains to significantly higher bullet weights, and the spent casings are easily reloaded. There are also many makes and models from bolt action to semi-auto. I'd recommend a bolt action with fewer parts.

Here we have the white tail deer and a native deer called taruca that can be hunt only some times of the year because is a vulnerable specie it weights between 45 and 60 kg
Our laws are kinda strict for firearms and its not legal to reload bullets