Newb to Deer Hunting!

CarJunkieLS1

Like the title says I'm new to deer hunting, I've pretty much hunted any kind of small game Alabama has to offer, but I've never shot a deer. I'm 28 years old so its time...lol. I've got some guys at work and some at church that are gonna take me deer hunting with them this November. I've got several questions so please guys bare with me. I'm a deer hunting NEWB.

1. What type of equipment will be beneficial to me. i.e. clothing,gloves,boots,etc.

2. Are some clothing better to remain "unseen" and "scent free" than others.

3. Where do I need to shoot the deer to make him DRT. I have been told where I'll be hunting that if it runs I may not be able to recover it.

I'm sure there is alot more things I've overlooked and haven't thought of and please share any advice you have. If you have any questions for me don't hesitate to ask. Thanks

Below is a picture of the kill zone, a shot that hits both the heart and lungs will pretty well do the trick most of the time, I have heard of a few freak incidents where it did not however, deer are tough animals.
C50C4F79-ABBE-4D9F-8C4E-7E08A913A8E5-2536-0000013DEDBCC53E_zps948babeb.jpg

As for scent control the type of clothing you use is not so important as controlling the scent that it picks up. Wash it (ALL OF IT, boots, socks, underwear) in scent killing detergent, apply a good scent control spray after it dries, then store it in some type of airtight bag or scent control bag.

Depending on the where and how late in November you go BUNDLE UP! Invest in some high quality base layers, nothing sucks more than having to be dead quiet and stone still when it's 27 F outside (I know 27 isn't that cold to some of you but in GA that's freakin COLD).