New Yard sale Revolver

jspappap

HPIM1287.JPG

HPIM1291.JPG

HPIM1292.JPG

I'm new to black powder but am surely addicted. I'm just trying to figure out how to add pictures. I bought the Navy 44 Cal Revolver at a yard sale, last week for $20.00. It was disassembled in a box. After bringing it home I saw somebody had disassembled it with a hammer, pliers and a screw driver. They drove the wedge out and destroyed it and left a bunch of gouges all over the frame. I'm slowly stoning all the nicks and dings out and will try to find a replacement wedge and screw. The other 2 photos are of a stock I'm working on for my 50 cal hawken kit . My first attempts at carving and inletting. I tried to post more pics but am limited to 3. Will post more of the Smoke Pole stock pictures.

That is a brass framed 1860 Army. You will have a fine shooter, just don't try magnum level loads in her.

How can you tell the difference between an Army and a Navy. I thought that since it had the ships engraved on the cylinder it was Navy.

Navy has an octagonal barrel and a simple reloading lever hinge and a dot front sight. That 1860 has a sleek design and a rack and pinion reloading lever and a blade front sight.

Replacement wedge

Thank you much for the Identification help. Do you have any idea where I can find a replacement wedge and screw

Found my Wedge Parts

A place called Midway USA had all the parts for this revolver in stock so I ordered a replacement screw set while I was at it so I could all the screws which were chewed up pretty badly. Again thanks for all your help.

You have to be pretty careful in reference to "Army" and "Navy"

The Army or Navy designation technically refers to the caliber. .36 being the Navy caliber and .44 being the Army.