New to suppressors

thesheepdog

Hey guys,

Back again!

I'm not a firearm newbie, but I am new to suppressors, and I am looking at purchasing one soon (yes I know all legal work involved to get one).

I want to put one on my M4 Carbine (5.56mm), and I want one that is tougher than the rest, for a reasonable price (AAC has some nice ones that i would love to have).

So, AAC claims they are the toughest. Gem Tech is out of the question, because they aren't welded baffles and a recent military test (AAC passed) caused the Gem Tech to fail.

My biggest questions right now:

(1) Are there other brands just as tough as AAC, and reasonably priced like theirs?
(2) Would a 6.8 Suppressor work just fine on my 6.5 Grendel and my 5.56mm or would it be better to buy one for each (I would have to save up a while for another one).
But when it comes to sound suppression, how much would I lose using a 6.8 on a 5.56 upper?

Buy an AAC 7.62SD the sound reduction you loose by oversized bore is corrected by the greater length and volume.

On gas guns like the AR/M16 type weapon a dedicated .223 silencer blows a lot of crap into the shooters face. The 30cal does not.

The YHM 30 cal Pantom is also plenty tough but it is heavier than the AAC.

Go here and read reviews and tests. They include decibel rated sound tests on .223 platforms:
http://www.silencerforum.com/forum/forum.php

As David says, a good .308 suppressor works pretty well on a .223, when used with an adapter. It should also work well on a 6.8SPC or 6.5 Grendel.

The other thing those tests (or shooting one yourself) will tell you, is that .223 suppressors still leave a rather deafening report.