New to guns...

ousooner81

Inactive
Hello all! I'm new to guns and purchased a Remington 870 express today for home protection. My question, which I know I risk getting laughed out of the forums, but do you recommend storing the gun loaded without any ammo in the chamber? What is a proper stowing place for a gun of this magnitude? I don't have a case yet or a gun locker. I plan on stowing in the top of my closet, which is high and elevated. Thank you all for your input and help!

Patrick

Well I guess an 870 is a gun of magnitude. Depends on your perspective.

I would keep it next to the bed with the magazine full.

I keep mine in a gun cabinet magazine full, along with about 10 others also loaded.

But, I also keep an AR 15 behind the bedroom door, a Rossi lever gun next to the bed, and a SW MP 40 on the night stand. My wife keeps a glock 19 on her side. All Are loaded and ready to fire. An unloaded weapon is kinda useless.

And I am not poking fun at you. We simply do not have enough info for better advice. Where do you live? Whats the threat? Here in Cochise County the threat level s high.

Last edited:
No one will laugh at you here, the guys here are pretty respectful and are always happy to help out someone new to firearm ownership. There's never harm in asking a question and the guys here are quite knowledgeable in a variety of areas.

As for keeping the weapon stored, there are some things to consider. Do you have any kids? If so, I recommend a trigger lock. I'd advise against keeping it on a shelf in the closet, because if you needed to get it quickly in a low- or no-light situation, it could fall and possibly discharge. I keep a Mossberg 500 with five in the tube (chamber empty) under my bed for HD, perhaps that's an option that would work better.

I should have stated that I have 3 little ones (ages 2, 1, and a newborn) so just keeping it behind the door or next to the bed is not an option. Thanks for your input!