New Ruger Birds head.

ruger357

Just picked up my ss Ruger Vaquero birds head. Grip fits my hand like it was made for it, and balance seems just right. This is my first time shooting .45 colt and I can use some help on which rounds to use .
1. Cowboy rounds?
2. Full loaded rounds for a hiking gun or self protection?

Thanks and happy New Year.

I haven't tried them yet, but Cor-Bon makes self defense loads in 45 Colt, as well as hunting rounds.

Their website is www.cor-bon.com

Neat little revolver you got yourself there; I'm envious (smile). If you should ever be struck by the desire to carry it for self defense, www.epsaddlery.com makes concealed carry rigs for Single Action revolvers (in their "modern" section). This topic has been explored on TFL in the past, just run a search on "SA carry" or "SA defense"

Congrats on the new ruger. They sure look nice.. I bet you have been waxing that baby.. Let us know how it shoots. I would also give Corbon's a try.:D

If you don't already do it, learn to reload and shoot 250 grain hard cast lead bullets with medium heavy loads of 2400 and you will have a power house. Good cheap shooting too and be sure and use gas checks on your bullets to keep down the leading.

7th

if your looking for more than you can handle, try BuffaloBore.com. the 325gr hard cast at over 1300fps will get your attention. I had to quit shooting them out of my 4 5/8" Vaquero, just too painful!