New Redhawk 45 Colt advice

Ranger1

Inactive
Hello to you all,
I recently purchased a brand new Redhawk in .45 Colt, only to find the extraction was very difficult even with Win. 255 lead ammo, (this is the factory test ammo, per Ruger) One of the cylinders actually had rifling-like reamer marks! I returned it to Ruger and I hope they will replace the cylinder...This was my 16th. Ruger and my first defective!

Anyway, my request is for bullet/bullet mold/grip advice.

1. I want to use lead and/or lead GC bullets. I want to use heavier bullets in the 300-350 gr. range. Any particular makers stand out for consistancy and good delivery times? I like the Beartooth site but I have no knowledge of them.

2. Any advice on the same weight range in a bullet mold?

3. As to loading dies, how are the Lee dies working out with their "modified taper crimp"? Any one use the Redding profile crimp die as the last step?

4. There are many grips out there, Michaels, Pachmayr, Hogue, etc. Any advice on the best grips for recoil-absorbtion with heavy loads? I plan to Mag-Na-Port the gun. Does anyone use the hardwood Hogue grips? I purchased a UltraDot 30mm. (Ruger was kind enough to send me a set of 30mm rings). I know this will add some weight to the front.

Thank you in advance for your advice.
Harry

Harry,

Congratulations on your new Redhawk! I'm sure Ruger will make it right. Just a shame they let that cylinder through without polishing.

If your Redhawk is as accurate as my Blackhawk, you can probably save the Ultradot for another gun. :)

My Blackhawk sports Pachmayr Presentation grips that I really like. The factory grips beat the hell out of my middle finger knuckle! :(

Don't know where you live, but Oregon Trail makes excellent cast bullets for the 45 Colt, in weights from 200 to 300 grains. Check their web site at

http://www.laser-cast.com