new guy here

southernboy

Inactive
Hey everyone. I'm new to the BP scene and I came across this forum. I've just ordered an 1851 navy squareback and I'm as excited a kid before Christmas. Could anyone give me the rundown on the tools that I actually need. I've always been leary of asking a salesman when he knows I DONT know. Not that they are all bad, but when it comes to spending money for nothing I try to be careful. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appriciated.

Can't really help much with info as I am pretty new myself. However, there are a bunch of really smart, nice people on this site that have helped me. Welcome.

A set of professional quality gunsmith screwdrivers is a must to keep from marring screw heads and a plastic hammer for removing the wedge. I just use a plastic handled screwdriver tho.:D Before you remove the barrel for the first time notice how far the wedge protrudes on the side opposite from the wedge screw. Drive it in too far and it will bind your cylinder.(my 60 Colt is just a smidgen past flush) Do not remove the wedge screw, all it's for is to catch the lip of the wedge spring to keep the wedge from coming all the way out. You need a powder flask and a powder measure. Do not load chambers directly from the flask. If you have a hot ember in a chamber it turns the flask into a grenade. You also want to use lubed wads under the balls or put a soft lube like Crisco over the balls to prevent chain fires and keep fouling in the bore soft. A capper is nice to have but not necessary.

Thanks for the info. I forgot to mention, I did order a flask with it to. It is the Navy powder flask. The pistol is a Uberti 1851 Navy squareback. It'll be here Friday, and it was the last one in stock through TexasJacks. :)

OK welcome to the dark side.
First select your choce of powder, 777 is goodit cleans
up really ezzzzzzzy.
No 10 or No11 caps cci are good, and so are remmington.
Check to see what fits the best, you want them to be snug.