New Guy Buys a rifle..... Rem 700 VTR

JonProphet

Inactive
I'm interested in building a tacticle rifle. I'm basing it on the Remington 700 VTR .308. First day at the range and I put 50 rounds through it. Followed a break in..... for those who want to ask that question. Here is the current specs. .308 22" triangular barrel w/ built in muzzle break, green stock, Luepold base and rings, Nikon Buckmaster 3x9x40 scope.

I'm interested of doing longer and longer shooting. Just for sport, not competition as I don't have the time right now. I started at the range doing 100 yds off the bat. I was using 3 2x4's to steady the aim a bit after break in and trying to zero in the scope a bit better. This is my first time doing this sort of thing and frankly I like it. I want to do some more but I want to start improving my shot placement.

My first throught was to invest in a bipod and get some trigger work done to the stock Remington. Either improve the stock remington via a gunsmith or getting a Jewel or a Timney. The trigger seemed a bit stiff and pulled me off the target a little bit. 2nd was the bipod, I'm looking at a Harris Bipod 6"-9" that rotates.

I've read that also going to a different stock can improve the accuracy of the 700 quite a bit. But being that this rifle isn't your ordinary 700, what's the story on the VTR's stock over a SPS or other 700 rifle? Should I stick with what I've got?

I'm the type of person who likes a good platform (ie, piece of equipment) then improving my skills. I don't like to buy something, not improve and work on my skills first. Get a good base, then learn to use it, in a better than stock configuration.

As a last thought, I will probably upgrade the scope as the last thing I do to the rifle. I like the buckmaster, but I think I want to go with something else from Leupold. Fixed mag but something with better mag than just 9x power.