New guy...buying first shotgun for trap...

SpazzTrap

Hello all,

I am new to shotgunning and have several questions about getting into a mid level gun that will be used mostly for trap, and some bird hunting.

I have used O/Us, pumps, and auto loaders, and was wondering what was considered to be the most versatile. I don't want to short myself while practicing trap, but since this will be my one and only shotgun for a while, I want something that will lend itself to some functionality if I try skeet, SCs, or pheasant hunting.

Any suggestions or hints would be appreciated...I'm looking to spend 550 - 900 dollars, as it seems I can get into a respectable gun for that (Rem 1100, Winchester X2, etc.)

Thanks in advance for any help...

SpazzTrap

Spazz, ask 20 trapshooters that question and you'll get at least 20 opinions. Here's mine.
Unless you're very familiar with shotguns, and reasonably kick tolerant, a easy kicking semi auto like the 1100 makes sense. And lots of 1100s are winning trap matches all over.

Trap guns get shot a lot, durability is a prerequisite,and so is fitting the shooter. One doesn't become proficient with a gun that hurts him/her, or proves impossible to hit with.

And, buying a used shotgun keeps the costs down a bit, and if it turns out it's not the shotgun for you, small loss. Trade it or sell it, and get something else.

If I were entering trap competition right now, with lots of experience behind me, I'd probably spring for one of the Brownings, or a Berreta O/U. I'd get one with a longer bbl for a smooth swing, a stock that fits me nicely, and set up to pattern most of the shot above POA.

What I wouldn't use for serious competition is exactly what I DO use for informal stuff, a short bbled 870 that's my everything flying gun. Serious competition requires specialized tackle. Pumps don't do all that well in trap.