New gun purchase, Ruger or Beretta?

WBaird

Inactive
I am looking for something relatively inexpensive. I know the Rugers cant be beat for affordability but I have always eyed the Berettas, as I really like the aesthetics of the guns. I have fired a Ruger, but I have never shot a Beretta, any comments regarding them, problems, compliments? What models are good in 9mm? I am looking for something for home defense and pleasure/recreational shooting.

I know some people consider Bill Ruger to be one-step up from the anti-christ, but I would like to steer clear of those arguments and get true, unbiased information about the guns in question.

Thanks for your help,

Bill

I have owned both. For the price, a Ruger 9MM or 40 cal you cant beat. But i like a beretta. Get the 92FS. It is durable, reliable, hi-caps mags are out there in good supply and not as expensive as other brand mags. i think you will be happy with it. I have a beretta 92fs, carried it when i worked in law enforcement, good solid weapon. I would take a beretta any day over a glock..IMHO..

I've tried them all...

I've owned semi-autos by Ruger, Glock, S&W, Sig, Kahr, KelTec, Star, Colt and I've probably forgotten a couple but the only ones I've truly fell in love with are the Beretta's (well I am awful fond of the Kahr P9 but that has more to do with size and weight). If I had found out with Beretta sooner, I could have saved a lot of money on pistols and had a safe full of Beretta's. My current favorite is the 92G Elite but any of the 92 series Beretta's are wonderful handguns. An added benefit is that the Beretta factory original (15 round) capacity magazines are available at a reasonable price. Nothing wrong with a Ruger IMO, and I plan on getting a P97 in the future, but they don't compare to a Beretta.